Today, the quality of life in large cities is decreasing. What could be the reasons behind this? What measures can be taken to resolve this problem?

Despite the significant developments being made in metropolitan areas, cities are facing grave problems and standards of living are deteriorating there. This is mainly because of urban sprawl and rapid industrialization; the corresponding remedies to tackle this issue are illustrated here. To commence with, one of the prime factors that afflict the way of living in urban communities is the undeterred expansion of these regions. With the passage of time, surrounding small towns are merging to the central city, thus turning into conurbations. This puts a serious strain on amenities such as transport, healthcare and job opportunities. A recent study conducted in the UK has shown that London has suffered from notable unemployment and traffic congestion because of a recent migration explosion from surrounding territories. Another major reason is the introduction of factories in a metropolis that has badly affected the standard conditions of its residents. For instance, building firms in a residential area pollute the environment and afflict the air quality, which results in several environmental problems. Turning to its solutions, one way to tackle this severe issue would be to deter the migration of people from remote areas to the megalopolis and halt the cities' further expansion. This can be done by providing the same facilities to people living in suburbs and the country. To illustrate this, the state can play a crucial role by exploiting equal education and health amenities, and a comparable rate of employment in the countryside. Moreover, industries must be built far-flung from residential colonies to avoid smog and air pollution. Proper disposal of industrial waste needs to be ensured by factory owners in order to keep the atmosphere pollution-free. To summarize, ubanisation urbanization and development of industries seem to greatly affect the way of living in large cities. Providing all regions with equal opportunities and discouraging companies from being constructed in exurbia can help ameliorate the situation to a great extent.