Stores should sell local food products and not imported food products. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe supermarkets should be providing their consumers with locally produced items instead of imported meals. In this essay, I will write about why I agree with this statement and why this will reduce the cost and contribute to the environment. First of all, if more stores were willing to sell food from other local wholesalers, it would reduce the value of ingredients. It would be easier to obtain and produce foodstuff in a quicker time frame even without paying for items overseas. For instance, instead of purchasing goods from other countries which would require them to be transported by plane or train. These costs would have to be included in the total rate of the items when they sell to their customers. Therefore, stores should go to local farmers and wholesalers and buy the quantity needed which will reduce the price since the travel time is less and cheaper. Furthermore, when they decide to sell more locally produced products, they also reduce the fuel emissions that have a negative impact on the planet. For example, by reducing the amount of food they receive from other countries and by using planes and trains less frequently the emissions would reduce by 67%. That would not only make a big impact on our local farmers but also on the planet. In conclusion, if they would decide to sell more local produce, they would be able to lower the price and at the same time the crops, animals and humans would grow and live healthier lives.