You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Most countries aim to improve their standard of living through economic development, but many important social values can be lost as a result. Do the advantages of economic development outweigh the disadvantages? You should write at least 250 words.

Nowadays, many nations invest in their development in order to improve their standard of living. However, some people are worried that this process could lead to a lack of human values inside the community. In my opinion, increasing personal incomes and facilities available has several benefits for society. Nevertheless, there are also drawbacks, related to the new social relationships that this process could bring. Economic development means that governments might improve healthcare facilities, schools, and public spaces - such as squares and parks. Moreover, this can have effects on the general economy of each citizen, for example with the increase in salary. The benefits related to this investment are difficult to understand, especially if you live already in a developed country. We do not know how we are lucky, for example, to have tap water at home. In the majority of African countries, this service is not available, and they struggle to find just a bottle of water. Even if development has generally a positive impact on society, today it is also a synonym of consumerism. This phenomenon can be positive, in order to satisfy human necessities. Therefore, as a consequence of consumerism, in Western countries, today is more important appearances, clothes, and material things, than, for example, being kind to your neighbour. There is no collaboration with each other to build a better future for society, and everyone thinks for himself. To sum up, government's goal is to improve the standard of living, even if sometimes it means a loss of social values. The advantages of economic development outweigh the drawbacks just when people learn how to balance economic well-being and moral values.