Some people believe that they should be able to keep all the money they earn and should not pay any tax to the state. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Tax is considered by many people as a heavy burden because it decreases their disposable income. However, I hold the opinion that it is necessary to pay tax. Without the existence of tax, society is difficult to operate well. The government can use tax to fund the construction of a variety of infrastructures including roads, public schools, health care systems, and so on. For instance, citizens are able to commute conveniently with efficient public transport, while traffic congestion may have an adverse impact on the economy. Nevertheless, private companies are always loath to pay for constructing utilities because of their low profitability. Hence, tax is an essential source of income for the government and will be used to fund these public projects. Another benefit of tax is that it is a key approach to redistributing wealth. In many countries, the high- income group need to pay tax at a relatively high rate and the poor can receive subsidies at the same time. Given that the social welfare system is supported mainly by tax, there is no reason to deny the importance of tax paying. This can close the gap between the haves and have-nots and reduce the possibility of social unrest arising from economic disparity. On the other hand, people may be reluctant to work hard if the tax is too heavy. Income is always an important indicator when someone seeks his or her job and can stimulate people to be energetic. With a heavy tax, workers seem to feel less motivated to be hard-working because their disposable income may remain stable even if they pay more time and energy into their careers. As a result, the economy may fail to increase steadily. In summary, I believe that tax is necessary to keep society functioning well, although too heavy tax may lead to some problems.