To meet the growing need for food to support an increasing population, a country should make use of edible insects as a food source. However, some people believe that insects are not only unhealthy but harvesting them will also negatively affect nature. What are the benefits and drawbacks of eating insects? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

It is often believed by most people that a nation must utilize consumable insects as an alternate source of food owing to the demands of population growth. On the contrary, few are of the opinion that their consumption is harmful to health. Additionally, the degradation of these will have a significant negative impact on the echo system. Both of these arguments have boons and banes which I would like to discuss further in detail below. To begin with the advantages, a few countries are on the verge of not being able to produce food mainly due to soil degradation. For instance, in my hometown in south India, twenty years back, people used to harvest 10 quintals of chillies per acre of land, nowadays, some of those fields have been repurposed for industries and the farmers moved into different occupations. However, the population of the entire nation has grown from 100 to 130 billion raising the demand for food. As a consequence, the exports of food to other nations have a significant decline. Similarly, many countries with such cases tend to find alternatives to vegetation such as these insects. On the other hand, eating these pests could have detrimental effects on health as we never knew what kind of bacteria or virus could spread across the human race. For example, apparently, the origin of the covid pandemic was due to the human consumption of a bat. The widespread and adverse effects were unimaginable. To conclude, we definitely need to find an alternative supply for the raising demand for food. Whereas, I do not agree that pest harvesting is the optimal solution that we all are looking for. Research has to be made with the help of scientists by the World Health Organisation to figure out the right alternative.