Popular events like the Football World Cup and other international sporting occasions are essential in easing international tension and safely releasing patriotic emotions.

The whole world stops to watch international sporting events such as the Olympics every four years. The athletes participating put their best performance on display. Sporting events such as the Football World Cup and the Olympics have helped ease international tension, such as when powerful leaders were trying to control the world ’s economy. The Olympic Games are a great example that highlights how sporting events can bring nations together, at least temporarily. Ancient History saw Greeks and Romans interrupting battles to participate in the games. Even now, athletes from Palestine and Israel forget their differences, compete peacefully and even embrace each other after an event. Moreover, these popular events can bring world attention to the terrible consequences of wars, putting pressure on leaders to try and reach agreements to end disputes. Similarly, international sporting events have offered benefits in some Global South nations which live in constant internal civil war. For example, Brazil suffers a high unemployment rate, hunger, crime, lack of education, poverty, and corruption. This can be embarrassing and lead to low self-esteem. However, during the Football World Cup festivities, the Brazilian squad, easily considered the best team in the world, invokes an amazing feeling of pride in their country’s people. Most individuals put aside their problems and worries, and even criminal activity decreases. Roads are painted in the national colours, people wear the Brazilian team shirts and buy national flags. In conclusion, popular sporting events play a decisive role in diminishing international tensions and invoking patriotic feelings