Young people are often influenced by their peers. Do the advantages of peer pressure outweigh the disadvantages?

It is quite common these days that young people are much influenced by peer pressure. It is my belief that the positive effects of this phenomenon could overshadow the drawbacks. On the one hand, there are several demerits of this pressure. First of all, the most potent reason for this would be the loss of individuality. As the pressure leads to stifling personal expression, some young people may ignore their own preferences and interests, which confirms their personal identity development. As a result, they are more likely to lose their individual thinking ability, which hinders personal development. In addition, increased levels of stress and anxiety might be another disadvantage of this circumstance; this is because not only do they mislay their ability to improve their self-esteem, but they also are unlikely to reduce their stress and anxiety. Case in point, constantly trying hard to achieve their friends' standards, which can be higher than theirs, can create anxiety. Students, therefore, might become restless, contributing to burnout. Young people, in turn, face a high level of overwhelm. On the other hand, in spite of these negative sides, the effects of peer pressure can bring about crucial benefits as well. One obvious advantage is positive reinforcement for good habits. When youngsters are surrounded by people who possess better health habits, such as studying, exercising, and avoiding negative activities, they might be influenced by them and adopt these useful habits themselves. The more communication young individuals have together, the more opportunities they have to improve their social skills. As a consequence, it gives them an opportunity to create better habits themselves, which will be advantageous for their future lives. Furthermore, another primary merit is that young people with feelings of loneliness may find companionship among peers. Taking a clear example, if a young student goes to an interest-based group, like music club or volunteer organization, they have a chance to meet their peers and get a sense of belonging during their performances, reducing feelings of isolation among their fellows. This support system, hence, can be a significant factor in their emotional well-being. To sum up, while the main merits of feeling pressured among peers are a more advantageous factor, the drawbacks of this phenomenon cannot surpass its positive sides.