Young people today spend too much money on fashion and technological items. Some people say that this trend has negative impact on the society. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Young people these day waste money on fashion (clothing items) and technological devices, which was believed to negatively affect society. I do agree with this belief although I know this trend is helpful for many people in some ways. It is trending in the young generation to update themselves on fashion and technology, but this behaviour comes with costs. Firstly, fashion and technological tools are hardly recycled or reused because of their constantly update characteristics. For example, the iPhone 4 and under are not supported by Apple anymore, so it is nearly impossible to find the applications and accessories for these generations, which causes users to change their smartphones. The things that can’t be recycled will make the environment polluted. Secondly, when young people consider fashion and technological items as an important part of their lifestyle, the economy will grow in an unstable and imbalanced way as many companies and employees tend to focus on these things more than other majors. Moreover, spending too much money on things such as fashion and technology causes the young a huge loss in saving for retirement, and consequently leads them to poverty and endlessly working until they drop dead, which makes society unstable. Thus, it is entirely not good to spend money like that. Although these impacts are severe, it can’t be denied that the trend has some positive impacts for society. The way that many huge enterprises and companies grew and flourished drastically in this century is mainly because of this trend, for example, Samsung or Dior. It is also a good thing for young people to update themselves with the trend happening in the world so they are not behind the time. Nevertheless, teenagers and young adults should spend money on clothing and technological items in moderation. To conclude, money spent on fashion and technological items is not entirely bad or good, nonetheless, the young generation should have their expenditure planned more carefully so it doesn’t cause drawbacks for themselves and for society in general.