As countries develop, their populations tend to live individually or in small family units. In your opinion, what are the causes and what are the effects on society.

Earlier people used to live together in large families, whereas this has changed recently due to globalization. Nowadays people prefer to live in nuclear families and away from immediate relatives. In this essay, I will discuss why people like to live on their own and what are the effects of it. To begin with, many multinational companies have their head offices in metropolitan cities. This attracts people from countryside to migrate to the nearest city to earn money. As the cost of living in cities is high it becomes hard for the whole family to move, so only some family members migrate. For example, in India people migrate to bigger cities like Mumbai and Delhi to get more job opportunities and tend to send some part of their earnings back home every month to support their extended family. Hence, this starts the process of the partition where a big family is broken into smaller families to find employment. To continue further, the formation of nuclear families is in trend nowadays and can be observed in all parts of the world. There are many problems associated with this. Firstly, children who live and grow up in this type of nuclear family develop the tendency of being on their own as they don' t have any siblings to play with. They don' t like sharing their toys and get used to all the love and attention of their parents. To exemplify, kids who stay on their own the whole day while their parents are busy working tend to develop more mental illnesses than other kids. Moreover, unsupervised kids tend to lie to their parents and don' t have the affectionate bond between them because parents are unavailable most of the time when the kids were growing up. Secondly, people who migrate to different states lose touch with their cultural values as they don' t spend time getting involved in the community but instead work extra hours to earn more money. Therefore, not only this makes them lose touch with their traditions but also takes away from their family rituals. Lastly, in my opinion, it would be wise to say that governments should try and create more job opportunities in a rural part of the country so that people stay with their families and don' t need to leave their houses for a better standard of living.