Young people who commit crimes should be treated the same way as adults. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The number of juvenile delinquencies has been increasing in recent years. It is said that young offenders should have the same treatment as their adult counterparts. In my opinion, although doing so can be beneficial to an extent, i completely disagree with this statement for number of reasons which will be outlined below On the one hand, it is undeniable that treating juvenile criminals the same way as adult ones will bring more justice to the victims' families. For example: when a juvenile delinquent commits a serious crime, such as murder, and is only given a light sentence, it will make the families of victims feel resentful because the punishment for their loved ones' deaths is not justified. On the other hand, there are 2 disadvantages to treating criminals the same regardless or their ages. Firstly, juvenile law-breakers are unaware of the consequences of the acts they have performed. They still have not acquired an adequate amount of knowledge to understand that their action may cause harms for others. As a result, I believe that prisons should act as a method to teach them right from wrong rather than punish them harshly for what they have done. Secondly, incarcerating young offenders for a long makes it harder for them to find a job when they are released. Therefore, there's a high chance that they will be imprisoned again since nobody wants to recruit them and it is impossible for them to make a living. In fact, a recent report from a police department in the US showed that 80% of juvenile delinquent return to prisons after they are freed. This statistics indicates that a mistake can cost young offenders their lives if treated similarly to adult ones In conclusion, although making young offenders receive a similar treatment as their older counterparts can be more justified towards the victims' families, i believe that they should be given a chance to learn from their mistakes