Cricket has become more popular than the national sports in many subcontinental countries.What do you think are the reasons behind this?Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In recent years cricket has gained immense popularity in various subcontinental nations as compared to their national sport. This can be attributed to the unique plan of the sport which can be played in a number of different formats. In this essay, I will attempt to reveal the aspects responsible for this increment in its popularity over the native sport of these countries. Firstly, the major factor urging the masses to follow cricket is the plan of the gameplay. This is the division of the game into two halves, also called innings, which not only allow each team a fair chance to portray their skill, but also gives different players the opportunity to shine in their respective talents. For instance, in football, the most popular players are the attackers who score goals, while the mid-fields players and defenders get lower recognition comparatively. However, this is not the case in cricket, where batsmen and bowlers get equal opportunities to show their skills and contribute to the teams' success. Cumulatively, these aspects attract individuals who enjoy different aspects of the game; broadly catering to a larger audience. Another attribute that constantly keeps the fans engaged is the various formats of the game developed over the years. These range from a one-day match consisting of a limited number of overs to test matches that are played over a span of about five days. This once again is able to grab the attention of a larger number of people according to their preference. For example, most sporting events like hockey and skiing last only a couple of hours and result in one country winning, although this is not true with regard to cricket, as it fires the curiosity within viewers to follow up day after day. Hence, various individual preferences can be satisfied to a greater extent compared to national sporting events with limited possibilities. In conclusion, it is undoubtedly clear that cricket as a sport has the potential to attract and cater to a wider range of fans due to its exceptional rules of gameplay and a vast number of formats to choose from. This in contrast to the limitations of national sporting events plays a vital role in the constantly growing popularity of the sport in many subcontinental countries.