Nowadays, there is a trend that the media focuses on problems and emergencies rather than positive developments. Some people think it is harmful to individuals and to society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

These days, broadcasting impactful news is becoming more and more common and some argue that this will gravely impact society. I strongly disagree with this point of view as becoming aware of the problems of our world makes us more efficient when it comes to potentially solving them. First, people's awareness in regard to a nation's emergencies contributes to faster readiness against adversity. In the US, for example, criminal information released on the media increasingly allows citizens to stay safe by acquiring more guns. Moreover, growing rates of legal gun possession work as a deterrent for further criminal activity. That is when offenders realise that individuals are aware of their intentions, they not only are stopped from committing crimes but are also influenced to choose other ways to make a living. Secondly, if society understands which are the pressing problems that affect the world, governments and individuals could work together to further resolve them. For instance, if individuals were to fully see what global warming could do to the earth, initiatives could be considered in order to change old habits when it comes to people's carbon footprints. Further, these changes could be instilled into future generations' minds and thus, help to reverse our world's greenhouse emissions. To conclude, even though many parts of society assume that the media's focus on earth's struggles is detrimental to our society, many benefits can arise from it. In my opinion, the fact that negative developments are increasingly showcased on the news allows citizens to better comprehend what actions can be taken to achieve better results.