Immigration has a major impact on society. What are the main reasons of immigration? To what consequences can it lead?

It is true that immigration increasingly become a dominant phenomenon throughout the world. This essay will examine the main causes of this societal issue and possible negative influences on the country they managed to move to. There are three major reasons why migrants tend to go abroad to live. Firstly, some of them move to other countries in search of a better life. For instance, lots of immigrants come from less developed nations. Furthermore, richer or more industrialised places may offer opportunities for employment, so it brings more labour force. Finally, other populations migrate to a foreign country in order to improve their academic qualification, such as by getting an advanced professional license. Therefore, immigration could make people possess a satisfying life, work experiences,plus a high education aboard. However, this situation also takes plenty of consequences on both the individuals and the society, particularly in a developed area. First of all, some immigrant workers do longer hours for lower salaries. For example, the managers in Chinese restaurants might hire international students with illegal pay and workload in Australia, which causes employees who work overtime and even their health to be harmful. In addition, unemployment rates could rise if there are too many foreign workers. In conclusion, despite the fact that immigrants have several positive causes for going abroad to live or work, in terms of quality of life, schooling and jobs, the drawbacks and negative influences with long-term, such as working overtime or difficulty finding a job, should not be ignored.