A person's worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that a person's worth can be defined by looking at their legacy and social status, while normal values of people like honour, kindness and trust are not necessary anymore. From my perspective, I completely disagree with this idea and the reasons will be further elaborated on in this essay. There are reasons why social status and material possessions are not factors to judge a person. For example, Thuy Tien a famous singer with a huge amount of money took part in a volunteer to help poor children by donating money and uploading videos of those underprivileged being helped. However, she only volunteers to grab viewers' attention to enhance her reputation, but in the reality, she is a selfish person. Moreover, old-fashioned values still play an important role to judge a person, In common cases, many companies are still assessing their potential employees based on their working attitudes. To climb the career ladder or to have career prospects, employees will need some factors to be achieved, such as kindness or honour. For instance, to hold a role as a manager, some places require staff to be kind and honest for promotion since those characteristics are important to maintain a business. In conclusion, I am strongly convinced that old-fashioned values are necessary to judge a person rather than look at the social status and material possessions.