Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out.  In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, if so, how? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Oftentimes, the study of English is prioritised over the study of domestic languages in education institutions, which might lead to the extinction of a large number of them. Albeit the importance of a mastery of English for a society cannot be understated, the protection of regional languages through state-run education and support is paramount, too. Following the rise of globalisation and digitisation in the last decades, English is now the world’s lingua franca, making it indispensable for every modern citizen. International organisations and companies, most major newspapers and the internet all rely on the English language as a means of communication. Thus, not being able to understand and contribute to this global ecosystem excludes a person from economic, cultural and political participation. Especially in the context of growing international labour migration and tourism, those unable to utilize English risk left falling behind. Likewise, a good understanding of it opens doors in the aforementioned areas for people from poor backgrounds. In spite of the omnipresence of English in the global village, state-backed efforts to keep local languages alive is equally vital. One might ask oneself: Isn’t English enough to make it in our modern world? If everyone was to assume this, it would lead to a significant loss of identity and culture. Even before English as a language existed, Greek philosophers were already discussing the distinct impact of language on communities. They and many others concluded that languages differ significantly in sound and structure. Hence, groups bond together over their shared use of an exclusive form of communication. Take for instance the creation of the German state in the 19th century. In the process, the common denominator was a shared language, distinguishing Germans from their neighbours in other countries. German leads me to the next reason prohibiting us from abandoning local languages: the relevance of language for culture. Foreign literature researchers spend countless hours improving their German skills with the goal of finally understanding Goethe’s or Schiller’s masterpiece in their original language. As mentioned before, languages differ and so do the pieces of art using it. Although translators do their best, the meaning of passages changes from one language to the other. Hence, abandoning local languages would mean abandoning most of the literature produced up until now. For those two reasons, it is essential to encourage the utilization of local languages. States are best positioned to do so as they are unique in their ability to guide societies over the long-term. First, governments should emphasize the pursuit of local language skills in education by making courses mandatory and funding teachers and resources. Thereby, a strong foundation is build. Second, policy makers need to encourage ongoing use, which can be achieved through required knowledge for government employment. Moreover, official documents could only be available in local languages. An example for such a policy can be found in France. There, radio stations are required by law that a minimum of one third of their songs are French. Having outlined all these arguments, I conclude that all of us should speak English in order to not be excluded from a globalising world. Nevertheless, politicians should encourage and require the utilization of local languages because their disappearance would cause a considerable loss of identification and culture.