Nowadays, distance-learning programs have gained in popularity, but some people argue that courses can never be as good as those taken by attending a college or university in person. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A growing number of students are now considering distance -learning programs, which means they can obtain a degree at home. I would argue that distance education can have the same effect on students compared to the traditional alternative, although there are some nuances between these two approaches. Distance education has a variety of ways to help students acquire new knowledge and improve their skills. When learning online, students have to read related materials, do exercises and comprehend key concepts, which is similar to the traditional option. Moreover, once get stuck, learners can pause or replay the video until they go through. This can provide some disadvantaged students with opportunities to tackle many problems and enhance their academic performance. Hence, learning at home can also acquire the same (even more) amount of knowledge as in schools and colleges. These days, learners can also interact with their classmates and teachers when learning online instead of in classrooms. With the development of information and computer technologies, there are a variety of live courses, which means students can use some software like Zoom to communicate with peers or teachers. Through distance education, some students who are fearful to give face-to-face speeches may find it easy to tackle this challenge. Learners can also even break the limitation of locations and talk with professors in some world-famous universities in other countries. On the other hand, the main downside of distance-learning is that students may lack practical experience. Practical experience such as internship and experiments is of great importance when learning some scientific and engineering courses. Without practical experience, students may find it difficult to solve many problems after entering the workforce. In summary, I believe distance education can make the same difference when compared to traditional education in most scenarios, even if it has some practical problems.