An increasing number of people are now using the internet to meet new people and socialize. Some people think this has brought people closer together while others think people are becoming more isolated? discuss both view and give your opinion?

Nowadays technology and internet advancement appear in all aspects of human life. Although many people including me argue this phenomenon provides people with an opportunity to make a closer relationship, there is another group who discusses that individuals become lonelier through this technology. Firstly, some technological platforms make spoken and written communication possible anywhere or anytime. To explain more, social media applications such as What’s up or Instagram make a context to have free or affordable video or voice calls with our friends, families, or relatives all around the world. In addition, people are given a chance to track and find their long-lost friend who was the nearest and dearest member of their life. Secondly, it is undeniable that citizens all around the world can share their ideas on national or local issues, discuss them, and sometimes have an influence on political decisions. So, based on all witnesses mentioned above technology’s development has made a stronger relationship among people around the world. It has been proven that social media encourage people to indicate their emotions by using emoticons instead of expressing their feelings. Nowadays being constantly online and spending excessive time on the internet can cut them off from their immediate surrounding; as a consequence, they are influenced and forgot how can speak their minds and sensations. Therefore, one disadvantage of the internet is that individuals cannot make a balance between real life and the virtual world. To conclude, although social media assist people to make a bigger circle of friends, some people become overwhelmed and addicted to using them, it is said that internet literacy should be taught in schools.