Some people believe that teenagers should be required to do unpaid community work in their free time. This can benefit teenagers and the community as well. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The young aged from 13 to 18 years old are advised to get involved in social work without pay when they have bare time. I personally totally agree with this because of its advantages to themselves and society. Taking part in socially local activities possibly helps teenagers to foster their sense of belonging. Involvement is, to some extent, a way to show that they are not isolated because they are a necessary part of this neighbourhood. Similarly important is to enhance their sense of responsibility. They live in a neighbourhood with care, and safety; therefore, they are expected to return what they have received by giving a helping hand to other local people without asking for money. Last but not least, these students would definitely use their time much more usefully. Instead of browsing the Internet and glueing to the screen, which is harmful to their health and their minds as many studies have illustrated, it is much more effective for them to do the assigned tasks by the observers in their free time. Meanwhile, the commune itself also receives many benefits. Social services such as cleaning, taking care the disabled seniors, not to mention monitoring the traffic during rush hour can be achieved well without paying wages. In other words, voluntary work by teenagers, in a way, reduces the burden of labour and finance on the authority. Also, this activity will definitely be a feasible method to develop a healthy public by educating and then having good civils. It is no exaggeration to say that the community seems to have a bright prospect when the young, the future generation, do unpaid jobs to help the society they are in. In conclusion, I firmly believe that this kind of voluntary task by teenagers should be implemented as intensively and promptly as possible because of its benefits to both doers and society.