Many museums charge admission fees while others are free. Do the advantages of charging people to visit a museum outweigh the disadvantages?

Visiting museums is one of the most effective ways to delve into and explore history. Although some museums charge visitors an entry fee, others remain free. This essay will discuss the drawbacks and benefits of making people pay an admission fee by museums and show why it is necessary. There are two main downsides to charging an entry fee by museums. Expensive entrance fees will deter tourists and other people from visiting. If the fee were high, to begin with, families, students and low-income people, for example, will not be able to visit a museum. From the museums ’ perspective, such a scenario will reduce their visitors and will make it impossible to employ staff to maintain the valuable items of history. Without this money from the public, Korean museums which do not have governmental support, for instance, would not be able to operate and play their roles. However, the benefits of charging visitors an entrance fee are much more numerous. Having this source of income the museums might be able to hire professionals to take care of historical items and preserve them in good condition. If there is no finance to maintain them, the museums simply will not survive. Another advantage of charging an entry fee is that the museums can host exhibitions and develop their entertaining and educational programs by using that income. In short, entry fees as a source of income is vital for museums to survive. In conclusion, museums serve an important role as an institute which saves the nation's cultural heritage. This essay revealed the strong and weak sides of the admission fee and based on the reasons presented above I truly believe the paid entry fees are necessary.