Childhood obesity has become a serious problem in recent years. What are the primary causes of this? What measures should be taken to reduce childhood obesity?

Nowadays, infants are facing a serious problem of obesity. The issue seems to be happening globally, even for developed countries. The main cause of the problem is the substitution of mother’s milk for formula milk. To address this, the education and material support for an early family are needed. Analysing why it becomes the major cause and explaining the solutions to overcome that will answer the question of how to reduce the number of overweight children.

In modern eras, mothers face several problems, such as limited time to take care of the baby because they are working to support their family, leaving them with no choice but to give their baby formula milk. Moreover, the health issue prevents mothers from breastfeeding their baby, for instance, the milk doesn’t flow out. As a result, formula milk with unhealthy amounts of sugar and fat replaces the pure nutrients of mother’s milk.

In order to prevent that from happening, a lot of support is needed for women from an early stage. First, the parents have to be aware that the needs of mother’s milk are non-negotiable because of nutrients and bonding effects between mother and baby. Second, the preparation of vitamins and foods that have to be consumed by pregnant women. The husband needs to guarantee these needs, so that later the supply of milk would not be a problem. Third, the tools and scheduling to pump the milk for working mothers have to be planned.

All in all, the increase in processed milk consumption for children is projected as the primary cause of childhood obesity and preparation from the early stage of pregnancy is needed, so the parents can still provide their baby with their mother’s milk. As awareness is increasing, I believe the issue will progressively decline.