Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is being argued that these days, the growing requirements of common commodities show the art of promotions and not the true demands of the community where they are marketed. However, I totally concur with this idea because of consumer behavior and the chance of providing more detailed descriptions of goods in advertisements. The main reason for my agreement with this opinion is over using culture. Not only do advertisements try to shape new desires among people, but they also make people feel that owning certain goods enhances their status, happiness, or convenience. Even when the product is not essential, advertising uses a lot of tricks to make consumers feel they need it that often leads to impulsive buying decisions. These advertisements bombardment makes people buy their products to feel satisfaction. Consequently, this powerful impact often makes people purchase items based on trends rather than their needs. Another reason for my agreement with this proposition is room for more description. Advertising allows companies to describe their products more and better. It is possible that people do not need those products, but that advertising makes people feel this need. The more advertisements exist, the more description comes as follows. A clear example is gadgets. People have experienced life without them and felt no need for them. Yet nowadays, smartwatches have become very common due to the need for various data such as health information. Subsequently, new needs are shaped by making advertisements. In conclusion, to reiterate I agree that the high sales of consumer goods point to the impact of advertising and not the actual needs of society in which they are traded because of consuming manner and the opportunity to offer more details. Should this trend continue, it could have detrimental impacts.