Some parents believe that learning mathematics at school is redundant and should not be taught while others believe it should remain a foundational subject whether or not it is used later in life. Discuss both sides.

It has become debatable whether maths should be eliminated from the curriculum as it has no use in future or it should be taught in schools in spite of its value. This essay intends to analyse the validity of both perceptions in the upcoming paragraphs. On the one side, proponents of the former view consider that math subject is not used in some occupations after completing education and should be excluded from the syllabus of the school. This is due to the fact that certain professions such as computer operators, dancers and singers do not require solving difficult maths equations, consequently, this subject only wastes the significant time of students. In contrast, learners could utilize that time in learning their favourite content. Therefore, it should not be taught in educational institutes or should make an optional subject. On the other hand, supporters of the latter opine claim that mathematics should be a basic subject irrespective of its future use. In other words, solving equations aid the students to develop problem-solving skills and make their brains sharp which is essential in primary education. For example, learners are not able to choose a single subject at school as they are not well aware of the skills required in particular professions. Thus, it should remain a fundamental subject in school. In conclusion, different people hold varying opinions about mathematics whether it should be in the curriculum or not despite its use in future.