Some children spend hours everyday on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

A decade ago, the purpose of call up was to communicate with each other and few people had access to them. However, nowadays technology is so advanced and old dials are replaced with new mobiles,consisting of amusement, social media platforms like Facebook, Instagram and Telegram etc. with additional new features. These cellular contacts are pretty affordable now and having the latest version of the phone is kind of a new trend for youngsters. Some kids spend most of their time using their smartphones on daily basis. I believe this technology has a bad impact compared with a good impact. On the negative side, cellular phones are more of an obsession for children. They use a phone for hours and hours without realising how much time they had wasted. These contacts are affecting both their mental and physical health. Scrolling on Instagram, and chatting on Facebook with friends for hours, especially at night, put a bad effect on eyesight, as well as,on the brain. Other than that, the filtered pictures of bloggers on Instagram and on other social platforms are putting the kids into an inferiority complex because they consider these influencers as their ideals and want to live their filtered lives. Moreover, I also consider gaming as a drawback because the offspring unconsciously waste a lot of time playing that. For instance, one of the most famous online pastimes is PUBG, which is reducing their physical strength, as they are losing their interest in physical games and prefer entertainment online. However, on the positive side, contacts also play a vital role in our lives. It contains knowledgeable content in the apps for kids, from where they can learn a lot of good stuff. For example, there is a lot of entertainment for youngsters to discover new words. In conclusion, although smart devices are beneficial, I believe this technology is damaging both the mental and physical health of the heirs. The parent needs to consider this seriously as the health of their child should be their first priority.