Advertising campaigns on TV that are targeted at children should be banned. To what extent to you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In this ultra-modern epoch, it is a moot point that commercials which influence juveniles should be prohibited from television. A significant chunk of society defies the notion; however, the remaining member welcomes the same. I am in agreement to a larger extent with the given conception and this essay would shed light on my personal standpoint. To commence with, I do have some grounds against this central idea. First and foremost, some adverts are imperative for the development of the children’s cognitive skills such as some cartoons teach them the alphabet or numbers in a graphic visual way that they take pleasure in learning it. Thus, a significant amount of adverts are proven to be informative to be played on television. Shifting towards the view of agreement that how these product promotions increase the fantasy of the minors. To elaborate, fancy items promote the feeling of unnecessary desire among children, they start tempting without thinking about their negative effects and pestering parents for purchasing immoral materials. Even though children are not decision-makers, promotion techniques allure them that they end up acquiring materialistic objects. For example, the chocolate company Lint reported in 2010 that their sales surged by 75% when they promote their chocolates through commercials that particularly influence minors. Therefore, it can be argued without any scepticism that young ones are attracted by these fascinating adverts and impose their parents to have them. Furthermore, food and beverage commercials have a detrimental effect on children’s health. In other words, unethical ads of packed and processed food items encourage the young ones to consume them, it harms their physical fitness and leads to various issues such as obesity, heart problems and kidney diseases. To cite an epitome, a report from a health specialist in 2012 revealed that excessive consumption of sodas and junk food is being promoted in television commercials. As a result, misleading adverts have adverse effects on health which need to be prohibited. In conclusion, although a small number of adverts are essential for children, I believe numerous marketing techniques need to be restricted from television which shapes the purchasing habit for unrealistic products, and also has grave repercussions on their well-being.