Some people think that children should be taught to be competitive in school. Others, however, say that cooperation and tam working skills are more important. Discuss both the sides.

People have different perspectives whether school should teach children to compete or work in group as a team. While some people think that school should focus more on competitive skills, others believe that it is better for children to learn to cooperate and work in group. To begin with, children who compete against others often do well in school, said by some. In other words, competition among children motivate them and encourage them to perform better than their counterparts. Furthermore, competition is considered to be the most highly regarded skill around the world as in the real world these children tend to compete for a job in the job market and success is entirely depended on how they outclass their competitors. For example, a study conducted by the University of Sydney in 2009 concluded that if there is any prize for a winner in any competition then they gave their 100% to win that prize. Thus, this makes the competitive skill even more important. Secondly, it is also of immense importance that children should learn to cooperate and work in team as one. As most of the time these children might indulge in activities that could only be achieved via group word. Moreover, schools prepare children for their future and industry value this skills as key skills for meeting goals and deadlines. For instance, most organisations have multiple staff and without each others support organisations might suffer in their smooth operation. Just like a cricket team, where individual performances are useless if other team members do not perform. In conclusion, many people consider that competitive skills should be taught in school, whereas, others think that cooperative and group skills should be given more preference.