Waste disposal presents increasing problems, especially in urban areas. What do you think are the causes? Give some suggestion to the government and individuals on how to reduce the amount of rubbish.

In big cities, the amount of waste generated by human activities is increasing every year. There are causes of this issue and solutions that can be considered to tackle these problems which I will elaborate on below. Perhaps, the major reason why this happens is the rapid urbanization leading to increased population density in cities contributes to escalating waste disposal issues, as more residents generate more garbage. This happens because people believe that living in capital cities can provide them with opportunities for career advancements. Furthermore, excessive consumption patterns, particularly in developed countries, where single-use products and packaging significantly add to the volume of waste produced. Aiming to reduce cost, the use of single-use packaging has become a company's option to sell their products. For example, fast-food chains like McDonald's and Starbucks rely heavily on disposable packaging to serve their products quickly and cheaply. Moving to the solutions, educational campaigns aimed at increasing public awareness about the importance of waste reduction, proper segregation, and recycling methods can help change collective behavior towards waste management. A country will be prosperous if society is more educated and funding for city maintenance could be allocated for other purposes such as healthcare. In addition, investing in modern waste management technologies such as efficient recycling plants, waste -to-energy facilities, and innovative composting techniques could significantly reduce the waste burden. For instance, the Indonesian government's successful efforts to solve the waste paper problem by providing recycling machines. In conclusion, rapid urbanization leads to increased population density and can produce more glass, paper, cloth, or wood to be disposed of. Also, engaging society to overcome trash by educating them will be helpful.