Some people believe that it is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Some individuals think that sharing information in scientific research, business and academics is worthwhile while others insist that some ideas are too important or too valuable to be shared openly. In my,opinion I agree with the former. Those who think that it is good to share as much knowledge as possible in scientific research, business and the academic world might be because they help in reducing costs across all field and also promotes community development. Researchers upload their findings on the internet and these findings give the next group basis of their investigation and thus reduce the cost of starting afresh in doing the project. Groups of businessmen form a meeting where they give out data so as to help each other in work to know where to invest money to maximize profit or prevent downfall. Even in the academic world, some students enrol in free courses online where they get knowledge in some parts of the main program they would have paid for in the university hence reducing cost for them. For,instance my brother wanted to study engineering but he first did a free online curriculum on engineering where he got a diploma certificate which enables him to enrol in higher studies in engineering without doing the preliminary studies thus saving money for him and our family. Most of these free piece of data on different aspects of life helps in promoting a country by enriching its citizens to maximize their profits and make more money building the GDP of the country. However, there are some people who think that it is unnecessary to share advice freely. They feel those ideas are too valuable to be shared freely and hence should be paid for and kept for a limited number of the community. They said that people abuse free things and as such waste their knowledge without putting it to good use. Their claim might be because of a popular adage which says free things are not valued. For,instance some students who registered for those free online courses might not be serious about them and end up not finishing the course to get a certificate thereby wasting the efforts of those online teachers and schools, but if they had paid for it as in a university program, I bet they would have been more serious with it and would have finished the curriculum. Some also think that some ideas are too important to be shared freely and this can be seen in competitive businesses that are looking for an avenue to pass the others in the trade, hence they hoard information to top the rest. To conclude, while few individuals think most conversations are too important to be shared freely because of abuse, others feel it is worthwhile to share pieces of material which help in reducing costs and promoting the development of a country.