Many museums charge for admissions while others are free. Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museum overweight the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In this present world, there is no doubt that most museums are financed by the state and other private individuals. While others argue that for this reason, the entrance fees must be free, people also opine that an amount must be paid. Personally, I think the positive aspects of charging people for admission exceed the negatives and hence it must be continued To begin with, allowing visitors to make payments help generate revenue for the government. For instance, the cape coast museum located in Ghana generated over five billion Ghana cedis revenue for the country in just a period of six months. This income derived from such places could be used in building schools, constructing roads and providing primary healthcare to the citizens. Secondly, such funds raised from tourists could be used for internal renovation whereas building new places for accommodation. For example, there are several beautiful and attractive museums in the U.K. Overall, generating funds from people who visit such places relieves the financial burden from governmental officials as well as keeping the place up to standard. However, despite its pros, it has drawbacks. Firstly, it decreases the number of people visiting the place. To illustrate this, in a survey conducted in the U.S.A, only about 30% of its population visited the museum in 2021 and the most reason was the charges. Not that individuals have no interest in going to such historical lands but the charges involved are the major challenge. Secondly, only members from wealthy homes are able to carry on such journey. To set an example, personally, last Christmas, my school organized a tour to Mole park, one of the biggest museums in Ghana but suddenly for me, I could not partake due to the higher entrance fee. To conclude, the amount paid to gain entry to a museum is very important since it serves as a source of revenue to the government and helps their management to do some renovations instead of relying on the government. Meanwhile, I think the charges should not cost an arm and leg.