Many students choose to study at colleges and universities that are far away from the places where they grew up. Do the benefits of this outweigh the drawbacks?

Many scholars opt for institutions that are outside of their hometowns. Although they can stay with their families, I believe that there are more drawbacks because they do not become independent people. The advantage of being a day scholar is that they get to stay in their homes which is their comfort zone. In such cases, young people do not have to worry about anything since everything is taken care of such as they are served home-cooked, delicious food. Besides this, there will not be any tension to wash their used clothes which will either be taken care of by their maid or their mothers. Hence, life will be chill without any difficulties. For example, there was a study conducted by the Government of India on the selection of colleges by the students and it was found that around 40% of them preferred taking admission to the universities which are present in their native towns because they are afraid to go outside and start a life on their own. However, I believe this does not teach young boys and girls to be independent. Staying away from family and friends makes the younger generation to be strong and also inculcates the ability to face any situation. Hostel life teaches one to become flexible, tolerant, and understanding toward others. Additionally, it makes them punctual and also teaches them to follow the rules. For example, there are many hostels in India that do not allow late-night entries inside the campus. The latest entry is usually between 8:30 - 9 pm and beyond which, they are either charged with huge fines or the warden directly makes a complaint to their parents. Therefore, I believe that hostel life provides one with a lifetime experience, and one should not miss it. In conclusion, although staying with family is a safer option during graduation or post-graduation, however, I believe that one must experience hostel life because it helps the younger population to become independent and adaptable people. For these reasons, the drawbacks outnumber the advantages.