Governments should spend spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In developed countries’ city centres, express railways system in the air or underground has always been the vital means of transportation within the city or from one to another. From my perspective, I contend that governments around the world are incentivized to direct more funds to railways rather than roads because of the reduction in vehicle traffic, a solid assurance for commuter security and shrunk budget on the maintenance process. First, a railway project can significantly reduce traffic congestion on the road. People commute to work in carriers located either in the air or underground. In addition, less occupancy of space is enjoyed from building railways projects where only a small area of land is required to build up the train station and entrance on the road. Therefore, traffic jam is certainly alleviated either during rush hour or off-the-peak hour. Moreover, express railways are considered among the safest means of transportation and are cost-effective when it comes to maintenance. For instance, since almost every single operation of the railways is manipulated by a highly cutting-edge system which is programmed with the highest accuracy and discretion to ensure the ultimate human safety. Furthermore, taking a close look at the accidents reported in the newspaper, we have hardly seen any statistical reports associated with railway system crash whereas hundred thousand of car crashes alone have been observed worldwide. On top of that, in terms of financial issues, it is not costly to maintain by employing only 1 or 2 engineers to do the work while mobilization of both machinery and humans are required to work on maintaining the roads. Hence, it is obvious that the maintenance of railways is cheaper than that of roads. In short, governments around the world are encouraged to utilize their fund tactically on railways instead of roads for it can lessen the vehicle moment on the road on top of the fact that railways are safer for people to travel and low in maintenance cost. In fact, many developed countries witness a substantial improvement in air quality as a result of the decline in car use on the road.