Somez people think that governments should spend more money on sports facilities for top athletes. Others argue that this money should be spent on sports facilities for ordinary people. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

The issue of where government should put its money; be it for the training of normal persons or in our best athletes remain debatable. It is often maintained that the state must invest in the stadiums for our sportsmen, while others believe it is better to do same to find new names amongst non-athletes. This essay will assess the two sides of the story, but I personally think renovating pitches to train our topmost sports acts is a better option. On one hand, elite game players are ones who have ample experience in various disciplines at top flight. Therefore, a pump of funds to better the standards of prepping them will go a long way to increase success rates at championships. Such personnel require sophisticated equipment and/or fields to aid in getting the best out of them. For instance, Joseph Azamati, a renowned Ghanaian 4 x 100 runner, made history as he won a silver medal at the just ended Olympics. This was upon adequate preparation using the all new Prampram sports center. On the other hand, a dime spent on our stadia for non-athletes is a good step in the right direction. This will help unearth fresh talents to add up to the existent runners. Also, it is worth noting that, the popular men and women in athletics may have to hang their boots eventually, and so it is imperative to prep new legs. In this case, there will be no shortage of sports men and women to represent and bring honor to the nation at these global events like World Olympic games. For example, Joseph Agbeko (an ordinary person) surprisingly was picked up during a ceremonial boxing fight for a Ga chief in the Bukoum center. From there on, he was nurtured and has achieved great heights in the field of boxing, both locally and internationally. To conclude, even though funds used in modernizing training facilities help to some extent, I strongly believe an investment in these sites to sharpen our best exports in athletics is a far better option, as it increases chances of winning laurels and selling our country worldwide.