New technology have changed the way children spend their free time. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages

In this contemporary world, the way children spend their leisure time has changed significantly. With the advent of new technology, minors have learned many new pastimes. They usually prefer indoor activities, like playing video games and watching TV, instead of playing outdoors. Although they acquire many new things from new technology, it also poses unavoidable health-related concerns. The major advantage of using technology in adolescents and toddlers in their free time is that they learn new things. They watch informative videos, learn new skills and improve their vocabulary which, however, will make them smart and intelligent. For instance, my two years old daughter learned all the colour names and the alphabet by watching kids' channels on TV. Hence, we cannot deny the fact that technology has made pastimes easy and amusing. On the other hand, if youngsters are spending all their spare time indoors, using their iPads or computers, they will deprive themselves of outdoor recreational activities, like playing sports with other kids or riding a bicycle. Therefore, they might develop some health-related issues, like obesity, eyesight problems, and early-age depression as well. For example, these days we see many young age children below 6 years of age who are wearing glasses. Which is an alarming situation. To sum up, advanced technology has made break- time pleasurable for minors, however, having too much screen time and staying home all the time will not just affect physical health but also disturbs psychological well-being. Therefore, it depends on how you use technology, as a liability or as an opportunity.