Some parents believe that learning mathematics at school is redudant and should not be taught . Others beleive that it should remain a foundational subject whether or not it is used later in life

Teaching mathematics has become a debatable subject among parents these days. While some parents argue that calculus is not necessary, and should be removed from the curriculum, others maintain that it should be compulsory even if it is not required in the future. This essay will discuss both views in depth. I strongly believe learning math is vital because it improves students’ intellect and aids in the identification of their potential. On one hand, the growing number of caregivers are of the view that learning calculation in various academic institutions should not be encouraged since it does not benefit the child in any way. This is because the skill gained from this subject is now done seamlessly by electronic gadgets, such as simple calculators, mobile phones and computers. Operations done using these devices are faster and more reliable when compared to ones done by humans. Again, having good knowledge of mathematics is not a prerequisite for most jobs when children complete their studies. For instance, if a student eventually becomes a social worker, there will be no instance where he will be required to put his knowledge in algebra to use. On the other hand, other guardians argue that all children should be taught algebra, regardless of its use when they become adults. They hold this view because of the positive impact of the course on children’s intellect. Teaching pupils to solve problems in trigonometry, matrices and many others stimulates young minds to think outside their comfort zone. This broadens their developing brains, making it easier to learn other subjects. Furthermore, young people with good potential in geometry can be identified. They are guided by their tutors which enables them to go into professions such as engineering, where they excel. For example as in the case of ids in USA In conclusion, the role of calculations in education today continues to be arguable. Although some guardians believe it is not essential and should be omitted from school programs, I think it increases students’ intelligence and helps us identify their strengths.