In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

The way of living of human beings has been changing since the advent of new science and technology. Nowadays, many people are suffering from different types of fatal diseases due to the overconsumption of instant cuisine. It is considered that this trend is leading to a universal health crisis. Plenty of views rising to control the production and distribution of foods which are unhealthy for human well-being. I also agree with the opinion of controlling readymade foods. To begin with, with the rapid development of industries, science and technology people are being much busier than before. As a result of busy schedules, especially in the cities, consumption of fast food is also skyrocketing. Instant cuisine is found to be quite tasty, easy and relatively cheap than other types of food. Due to the convenience of the public, its rate of consumption is climbing sharply. However, many kinds of research suggested that fast foods are quite detrimental to human well-being. Therefore, governments should take action to save the fitness of the people. In order to control such types of food, many measures can be taken such as leaving high tax on production and sales, and advertising for greater awareness so that people are discouraged from buying. Other people opine that the government should not control people ’s choices. They further argue that the public is aware of their own health. Consuming fast snacks is their compulsion rather than interest. A fast meal is their tool for surviving since they have very busy schedules. Their view is that the authorities should take policy to increase healthy food without discouraging them. However, I totally disagree with that view, since the protection of public well-being is the prime responsibility of the government. The government should collect resources so that they can allocate a budget for the production and promotion of healthy meals. To conclude, the governments are the guardians of the citizens. Respecting people ’s choices, they should focus on hygienic cuisine so that public health is protected and crises can be avoided.