Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment what damage does plastics do to the environment? What can be done by government and individuals to solve this problem.

Plastics have been a threat to our living environments for the last three decades. The reason is that they are harmful to our planet. As a result, actions need to be taken immediately. Plastics are doing lots of damage to our environment. First of all, it is polluting our oceans and rivers all around the world. Research which was done by Toronto University showed that nearly 80% of the rivers and seas have been polluted till now. Fishes, such as whales or sharks, eat them by mistake, but they cannot digest them, so they stay in their bodies. Secondly, since plastics are hard to break down in nature, they will stay there for a long time. For example, in some beautiful parks, we can see plastic boxes everywhere, which is not only bad for the scenery but also not helpful for the tourism industry.Overall, we must prevent it from posing a threat to our lives. More and more people advocate that governments and individuals should take actions to deal with the problem. Firstly, governments can set new rules. For instance, they can put more taxes on those companies that are producing plastics and so on. In addition, they can also require customers of a supermarket to pay additional money for plastic bags. In terms of individuals, we can also do more to support our community. First, customers can use cloth bags to go shopping, instead of buying plastic bags. Second, we can recycle those plastics rather than throw them in the rubbish bin. In conclusion, we need to realize that plastics can do lots of damage to our surroundings. As a consequence, measures can be taken as soon as possible, so that our environment will not be destroyed.