Government should spend money to encourage the development of sport and art for school students, rather than supporting professional sports and art performance for general public. Do you agree or disagree?

It is thought by some people that authorities should use money to motivate the advancement of sports and art for school learners instead of investing in those things in the community. From my perspective, I strongly disagree with this notion and my supporting reasons will be outlined in the following paragraphs before reaching a conclusion. At the outset, there are several drawbacks to spending money on school students and one of the most significant is that it can distract children's focus. To elaborate further, the learner needs to concentrate on their compulsory subjects such as Sciences, Mathematics, etc. which are essential for their future more than sports and arts. Moreover, sports and art can engulf most of their time so they cannot learn and study other subjects effectively. An apt illustration of this is that my cousin's school spent money on constructing a new football grass field and my cousin as well as his friends always used it when they had free time, playing football; therefore, his focus on main subjects which related to his future decreased. Additionally, another clear disadvantage of this notion is that there are a number of people in the society ready to compete. To explain in greater detail, many seasoned and experienced citizens, who are in top form, are available in our communities but lack supporters and funding. Furthermore, a large amount of money can be invested in some technologies to enhance and boost the skills of those who are ready to compete. To specifically demonstrate, in my village, there is one person who has a talent for table tennis but he said this sport is always looked over by authorities and he is now trying to find someone that can budget for him and support him to apply for competitions. In addition, he tells me that if our nation wants to win tournaments, the authorities who are in charge should purchase autonomous table tennis machines that can shoot balls with speed so that we can improve our reactions. All in all, it is undeniable that using money on schools to encourage students in both sports and art will bring some benefits to our society. However, from my viewpoint, I disagree with this matter as it only provides teenagers with paramount demerits, for example, distraction; on the flip side, there are a considerable number of people who are awaiting to be pushed and supported and hence focusing only on the new generation is worthless.