Illiteracy continues to be a concern for many countries in the world today. What are the causes of illiteracy in modern world, and what effects does it have on the people concerned and on society as a whole?

Nowadays, illiteracy is a significant and discussable problem, which can have widely effects on people life. There seem to be two causes and a number of effects, which we will discuss here. Possibly the main cause is the poverty especially in the undeveloped countries. The ever-rising number of poor people could have result on number of illiterates. It means that when families confront financial problems may have to categorize their needs and their priorities will be food and housing, so they will forebear education. Therefore, their children can be deprived of literacy. A further well-known cause is government neglect of illiteracy and its disadvantages. In other word the reason of inattention may be that governments do not want to dedicate a considerable budget to students’ education. As a result, quality of education at schools and universities will decrease. The effects of this problem on people can be quite serious. Firstly, loosing talents and increasing depression are experienced because lack of awareness. Indeed, it seems that illiterate people can not able to identify their aptitudes, so they will feel worthless and will be depressed. For example, youth may have chance to choose the field which they have talent and favored. A further widely-observed impact is uneducated countries cannot be industrialized and modern. It seems countries can be developed by knowledge of their educated experts. For instance, to build an electric powerhouse or produce a car, we need educated engineers and specialists workers. In conclusion, poverty and governments ignoring seem to be the main causes, and they effect people life and countries development.