In some cultures, children are often told they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advanatages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

It is commonly said that children can be whomever they want to be in future if they strive harder. This assertion has both positive and negative impacts in later life. This essay will look at the advantages and disadvantages of sending this notion out to them at younger ages. First, a key pro associated with giving such a message to children is the fact that it may come in as a motivator for future carers. This is because these little ones will get gingered to learn harder in an attempt to gain good grades for further education. In the long run, they will achieve their long-aspiring professions. For instance, if a child fails an exam and meets a rather positive,calm guardian, sharing such a message, would spur the ward on to do better in the next trial. Secondly, this statement may have a bad influence on their offspring. A child who is seemingly misguided and truant, he/she may go ahead practising all manner of vices in society. Also, comments like these, may hinder the young ones from heeding good counsel from parents. They can probably refer to this same words used by guardians to justify their wrong acts. For example, a pilferer in school may rally on this adage heard in the early days of life and grow to become a hardened criminal. In conclusion, parents telling their wards they can be anything they set their minds to in near future may seem inspirational, but as well encourage bad acts amongst them