University students are increasingly studying abroad as part of their studies. Do the advantages of studying abroad outwegh the disadvantages

Tertiary students furthering their education overseas are increasingly becoming common. Although studying abroad can expose them to new cultures and academic programs, the cost involved and the language barrier are major disadvantages. This essay will discuss why I believe the benefits people gain from pursuing studies in foreign countries outweigh the drawbacks. On the one hand, the main advantages of studying abroad are the opportunities learner gain to experience new cultures and study programs that are not available in their home countries. When students continue their studies in foreign lands, they get the chance to explore the way of life of the natives, such as their food, music, and dance. This exposure broadens their minds, making them more tolerant of the traditions of others. Furthermore, learning abroad also enables individuals to enrol in programs that are not offered in their country, for one reason or the other. For instance, Ghanaians with an interest in aerospace engineering travel to the U.S. to study because there are no resources to run most engineering courses in Ghana. On the other hand, the expenses involved and communication barriers are drawbacks to enrolling in tertiary institutions outside the country. Most universities charge international students more than twice what locals pay. This, coupled with the cost of accommodation, feeding, and other miscellaneous, is a major challenge for most learners. Again, many schools teach in their native languages which can make learning and interact with colleagues very difficult. Hence, this can affect learners’ overall performance despite being academically good. For example, a study conducted in an Italian college showed that most foreign undergraduates performed averagely in all subjects although they had excelled in their high school courses taught in their native dialects. To conclude, more people are travelling out of their countries to pursue various degrees these days. Although this can be very expensive, and language differences may be a setback, in my opinion, the advantages of experiencing a different culture and studying novel courses are superior.