Some people spend most of their lives living close to where they were born. What might be the reasons for this? What are the advantages and disadvantages?

It is believed by many that living near their birthplaces, either areas or cities are better than away. Although living close would be comfortable and enable better networking it does have some demerits in terms of exposure and jobs as well. On one hand, living close to where one was born provides a better sense of familiarity and the support of family when needed. Being born in a city and growing up there would mean knowing its places like hospitals, pharmacies or even favourite restaurants whereas other cities would require exploring. Furthermore, having one's family in their native town of birth provides a strong network, support or a safety net to fall back on in case of emergencies. For example, I was born in Delhi where most of my extended family resides and living around provided assurance and guidance. On the other hand, living in one place can be restrictive and limit the opportunity to explore other cultures or find suitable jobs. A city or area can have like-minded people with common characteristics and not extending beyond it can hinder learning and growth. Secondly, a city can only have a set spread of jobs to offer and can limit the experience of a person which another city might provide. For instance, cities like Mumbai or Bangalore have higher-paying and well-rounded jobs in the Information Technology domain while Delhi offers more jobs in Finance.  To summarise, birthplaces certainly offer great comfort and can be beneficial for many, however the limited domain job opportunities and cultural exposure are considerable demerits. People have to analyse both sides before opting to stay in the places where they were born.