Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

There are growing concerns about the amount of recycled waste from households. Some people think that this amount is not enough and should increase. In order to do so, this suggests that the government must make recycling a legal requirement. Although this might be a good solution, I think there should not be need for laws, and people should be informed and educated to recycle everything without being legally obligated. First of all, do not inform people voice something is right or wrong. If governments make recycling legally required, there is a chance that the amount of recycling increases but, it would not be because people started caring about the environment and recycled more. It would be just because the laws would obligate them to do so. Therefore, the motivation behind the act is not good. Consequently, if the laws become restricted and hard to obey, people will only focus on the law and meeting the requirements instead of paying attention to the benefits of recycling. Furthermore, not meeting the legal requirements usually leads to punishments in some form. In this case, the punishment would probably be financial but, it is not a way of encouraging people to do something. For example, if the government obligates residents to recycle 50% of their waste and charges them with extra taxes if they don't, would have to do so not because they care about recycling but because they don't want to pay extra taxes. This procedure can be sufficient for a while but eventually, people will get tired. In conclusion, I believe that the laws which make recycling a requirement or not efficient enough and their effect on encouraging people to recycle more of their waste is negative.