There is no doubt about the importance of children's development to their lives. While there is a commonly held belief that the media has a significant impact on children's lives, there is also an argument that tends to suggest that the family is the cornerstone of children. This essay will discuss this topic from both points of view and, then present my own opinion.

On the one hand, there is no denying the fact that media such as the Internet and pop culture are heavily on people's lives. In other words, the global nowadays becomes a small village, maybe a song by a band from another continent could be a trend in a faraway place. The internet, particularly social media, is playing a significant role in the orientation of the whole generation. For example, TikTok, which is one of the most popular applications that is used to start a trend, has crossed the world. So teenagers from different cultures and countries connect and imitate each other. On the other hand, parents are the first teachers for their kids. It is also possible to say that children in their first years spend the most time with their parents, forming their personality. Moreover, a child absorbs the behaviour and learns skills from family, then from outside. So, the most impact on kids comes from the first circle - their parents -, then from family and friends. For instance, a study revealed that children absorb 95% of their skills and behaviour from their parents, while 5% from siblings, cousins, and friends. In conclusion, there is no easy answer to this question. On balance, however, I firmly tend to believe that family have the crucial role in kids.It is commonly believed that nowadays the main factors that affect a child's development are media, pop culture and friends. A different point of view is that family plays the most significant role.