More and more people no longer read newspapers. They get news about the world through the Internet. Do you think it is a negative or positive development?

Many people read the news daily to discover important occurrences, such as the global economy, healthcare, weather and many others. The Internet is very powerful today as the major source of information centres. In this essay, I will discuss how easy to access information on the Internet and the rise of digital news in social media. First of all, people can easily access the news using their personal devices, for example, mobile phones or tablets which can access through the web browser or applications at any time. Because the technology is more affordable, people use it as their communication and companion device daily. News agencies are increasingly digitising their content for better reachability; therefore, the usage of social media has increased to publish the news. Since the production cost for digital news is relatively cheaper, this will become a game changer in the long run. The more news is available on the internet, the more people will save the cost and time to get the information. On the other hand, some people still prefer to stick with the newspaper in either paper or digital format. One of the reasons is the fake news and information which are not verified by any authorities or actual news agencies. Although freedom of speech is supported on the internet, that can mislead some people who easily trust the information on the internet. Unless the moderation of the internet is possible, some communities will still publish fake news in order to gain traction, including advertisements, number of views or users. The smaller the number of people reading the paper-based newspaper, the more publishers will push further on digital news. In conclusion, more people will not read the newspaper with the rise of social media and other forms of digital news. The advantages of getting a wide range of news easily outweigh the rise of fake news on social media, thus I think the Internet is the future.