Despite the environment concerned raised by scientists, people are not changing thier lifestyle. Why is this the cause? What could be done to encourage the people to save the environment.

Our planet, which is the only one known to have the capability of hosting life as we know it, is being gradually destroyed by human activities. In our quest to improve our standard of living, we have also inadvertently caused damage to our environment. Researchers have cautioned that measures need to be taken to reverse the trend yet, people seem oblivious to the pending danger and have ignored the warning completely. Some of the challenges that may be deterring us from heeding the advice from the scientists include; a low level of awareness and limited alternative lifestyles. One of the possible reasons why people seem to be oblivious to the environmental problems we are facing today could be pegged on the fact that there is no widespread knowledge of these dangers in the first place. For example, a lot of folks in rural areas have not had the opportunity to hear about how their activities affect the environment. society, therefore, continue to engage in practices that have a high likelihood of damaging their living space without knowing the consequence of their actions. Another point is the non-availability of alternatives. For instance, driving, as means of transportation emits harmful greenhouse gases that are depleting our ozone layer. However, there exist very few options to choose from. In as much as new inventions such as electric vehicles have shown the potential of eliminating this problem, the technology is rather still in its infancy and as such, it can not be used as a substitute for internal combustion engines. To do away with these barriers, government agencies need to take the campaign to the grassroots. This will ensure deep penetration of the information on human activities and their effects on climate change. Also, scientists and engineers need to Fastrack the development of new technologies to enable early adoption by the populace. In conclusion, the public appears to be adamant about concerns raised by scientists due to a low level of awareness and a lack of alternative lifestyles to choose from. If more effort is put into spreading the message to more communities and alternatives are provided, I believe people will change their attitude towards the environment.