Children can learn many things about the world by watching films. What things can they learn? Do all the things they learn are good?

It is generally said that movies teach children various concepts and skills. Though I think this is true to a great extent, I hardly think all that they learn from those are beneficial. The first thing that a child can absorb from cinema is the diverse lifestyles of people across the world. cinema generally highlights the living pattern of people where they are shot, and this ranges from what they eat to how they behave in various social situations. Children are also interested to know the scientific and technological progress, which are commonly portrayed in the flick. For example, the basics of modern technologies like advanced forensic sciences and biotechnology are included in many movies, and this gives the children opportunities to learn related concepts. Finally, films enhance the linguistic abilities of children. Various aspects like accent, vocabulary and specific usage of languages are acquired by children, when they watch pictures. Children can also get aware of the cultural and geographical features of parts of the world, like the Sahara or Antarctica from movies. There might be contrasting opinions when the question is asked whether all things children learn from movies are good. I feel as a child procures some necessary information about the world from movies, he is likely to acquire some unacceptable behaviour or traits from the characters portrayed in the movies. For example, many juvenile delinquents have reported the root cause of their behaviour problems to violent scenes in movies. To conclude, I think though movies give ample opportunities for children to learn many things about the world, I feel that not all that they watch in movies are good.