Some people believe that hosting an international sporting event is beneficial for the country, while others disagree.

While some people think that being a host for an international sports event benefits the country host, others do not. In my view, I think hosting an international event has more advantages compared to its negative impacts. Firstly, it is advantageous to host an event to increase the local economy. The host country needs to be able to accommodate athletes, team organizers, and visitors from other countries. Hence, the private and government-owned hotels will try to prepare as well as possible. It can absorb locals to work in those hotels for a short time. The other positive side is the opportunity to engage in soft diplomacy with other countries. The ability of a country to host a big event shows the commitment and political willingness of the government. If the event is successful, it will increase the country's reputation. In the long run, many foreign countries are willing to invest in the host counter in financial or education aid. On the other hand, there are several minor disadvantages that it might bring. The first problem that might happen is the increasing number of criminal cases. Some unfair business owners seldom try to scam foreigners to gain more profit. One of the cases could happen when the owner double booked the hotel room. Another issue could be the increasing amount of loans. The government would need to renovate some of the sports facilities. However, the money owned by the government is often limited; hence, loans from other countries might happen. In conclusion, I believe that the benefits of hosting an international sports event in terms of increasing economy and soft diplomacy far outweigh any minor issues it might bring