It is important for all towns and cities to have large public spaces like squares and parks. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Huge public spaces in towns are a kind of urban facility. It is believed that the existence of these spaces is necessary for all towns and cities. I totally agree with this statement. The spacious urban facilities have two important benefits including the citizen's satisfaction and boosting the tourism industry. With regard to the former one, high-quality urban spaces with acceptable amenities such as comfortable benches and safe children's playgrounds, attract all parts of society, from the elderly to the young generation. It provides them with a suitable place to calm down and have fun and thus increases the level of their willingness in their urban life. In terms of the latter one, spacious green spaces like forest parks and attractive man-made squares, significantly, boost the rank of cities in tourist destination lists. For instance, Tabriz which is a metropolitan city in my country, Iran, attracts lots of tourists every year because of its famous parks and green area. Thus the vital effects of public spaces should not be ignored on both sides. However, the existence of large public spaces can lead to a negative effect on the government in terms of the budget. These kinds of facilities need huge amounts of money to remain fresh and spectacular. Trees, flowers, green spaces, and all other items in the parks require attention from gardeners and efficient irrigation which both impose pressure on the government to tackle their expenses. Another point is, the government should be responsible for all the cleanliness fees of this environment, from preparing enough bins to the salary of workers. In other words, the more green spaces a town consist, the more expenses, the government should pay for. Thus, huge public spaces can cause financial difficulty for the government. In conclusion, huge public spaces like parks in towns, have important benefits which outweigh the negative points. Therefore, I totally agree with their existence.