In many countries, students take a year off finishing school should students take a gap year before attending university? What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

It is true that in many countries before students attend university, they take a year off and try to rest. I believe that spending one year on recreation can benefit students in their future studies. However, this idea has its benefits and drawbacks. On the one hand, taking a year off before joining the university can have some negative aspects. In the beginning, pupils can forget many subjects of their lessons if they don't review them at all. For instance, when I changed my field of study at the university, I forgot many mathematics topics because I had six months off. Secondly, many students only focus on recreational activities instead of dividing their time between leisure and study activities. Thus, it could be a waste of time, and students should avoid that. While taking a year off after finishing school has negative sides, I believe they are limited, and we can ignore them. On the other hand, spending a year off to rest before attending university can be beneficial for many students. The most important advantage of this idea is that they can give their brains a break. For example, in Iran, there is an exam called Konkur that is very frustrating and overwhelming for students because they have to devote their whole time to preparing for it. Another benefit of taking a year off after finishing school worth mentioning is that students could learn new skills or they can improve their weaknesses. I remember that I had a problem with linear algebra, so before going to university, I bought a book and started to learn the topics that I was not good at. In conclusion, taking a year off before attending university has its pros and cons. Despite understanding the drawbacks, I believe that the advantages outweigh its negative sides; so it can be a good idea for students to rest for one year after they finish school.