A lot of money is spent on repairing old buildings. Instead of repairing old buildings that money should be spent on knocking down old buildings and building new ones. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that whether we should expend a plethora of money on aged house maintenance or simply remove them and construct brand-new ones. I completely disagree with the latter perspective. This essay will further discuss the pros and cons of both opinions, and why I stand for spending money on preserving ancient constructions. On the one hand, historic sites should be protected, since they are precious for the cultural history of their cities as they give locals a sense of connection to the past. Also, they can serve as tourist attractions bringing visitors from all over the world, and boosting the economy of that city. For example, Eiffel Tower attracted more than 6 million visitors per year before the Covid-19 pandemic outburst, according to a survey on Statista. Moreover, there are environmental considerations to maintaining aged houses. Any form of restoration of existing buildings is environmentally friendly compared to a new build, since there will be no need to create new materials, nor older demolished materials thrown away. Nevertheless, there are a few shortcomings to preserving aged buildings rather than constructing new ones. Firstly, if an earthquake happens, would it be safe to the residents living in older houses? Nowadays, new housing blocks are subject to tougher regulations in the event of an earthquake. Secondly, a city filled with aged buildings will look old-fashioned, and some folks might find it a gloomy place and concerned about public security, like the Bronx in New York. In conclusion, though preserving old constructions can cost a lot and has its downsides, I believe preserving them can be beneficial to culture, economy, and environment.