with the increased global demand in oil and gas, undiscovered areas of the world should be opened up to access more recources. to what extend do you agree?

There is no doubt that with the striking progress of technology,human beings’ lives are highly depended on oil and gas nowadays. With the growth of global use of oil and gas, more and more areas should be opened up to extract them. I believe there are both advantages and disadvantages in adopting such an approach. On the one hand,there are some benefits in opening up new places to extract gas and oil. Firstly, gas and oil count as very indispensable sources nowadays, which are used in almost every industry. Dwindling these precious resources might lead to catastrophic events and unprecedented crises. For example, disastrous wars might happen due to gaining more resources, which its consequences could be miserable. Secondly, opening up new regions might provide the opportunity for human beings to discover new materials,which could be unique to these virgin parts of the world. For instance, in the process of extraction, it is feasible that scientists find a completely new resource which could be more beneficial to humans. Therefor, searching new places for finding gas and oil could have some positive effects. On the other hand, there are some drawbacks in opening up new areas. The first setback is that by adopting such an approach innumerous animals might lose their natural habitats, which could put a pressing strain on the nature. Having their habitat been destroyed, a lot of marine animals might be at the risk of extinction. Moreover, extracting new resources means using more gas and oil in the world, which its results could be harmful for our planet. When new resources are accessible, people could easily turn a blind eye on renewable resources, like solar or wild power, whereas if they do not take the amount of resources available for granted, there will be more pressing need to move towards more environmentally friendly resources. As a results there are some negative points in discovering virgin places. To conclude,There is an uprising demand on resources related to gas and oil globally,and in order to access more resources, new areas should be opened up. In my perception, there are both pros and cons in taking such measures.